June 1984 - As the result of a needs survey done by the National Association of School Nurses (NASN), the Future Projects Committee presented a proposal to the NASN Board of Directors to investigate the feasibility of a certification examination.

June 1985 - A proposal to utilize the services of the Professional Testing Corporation (PTC) to develop and administer a certification examination for school nurses was presented and approved.

First Board of Directors - The first Board of Directors was actually an NASN Committee comprised of six NASN members with no more than three from the NASN Board of Directors. Members were: Theresa Nash, Louisiana; Elaine Brainerd, Connecticut; Lu Elliott, Arkansas; Millie Nesladek, Montana; Nancy Broach, New Mexico; & Marilyn Marcontel, Texas (Chair). Beverly Farquar, NASN Executive Director at the time and Wanda Miller, NASN President at the time represented NASN on this new Committee.

The First Year - The Committee was given a name; the National Board for Certification of School Nurses (NBCSN). The Committee began work on developing objectives, eligibility requirements, testing logistics, and exam content. Almost three thousand candidate handbooks were requested in this first year.

1986 - The C.S.N. Trademark is approved

1987 - The C.S.N. Newsletter is initiated

1990 - Organizational By-laws and Operating Guidelines were approved. Re-certification by continuing education was also approved.

1991 - NBCSN officially incorporated. The application requirement changed to include a baccalaureate degree.

1992 - NBCSN and NASN agreed to have a non-voting member represent their respective organization at Board of Directors meetings. A third testing date was added to be held during the NASN Annual Conference.

1999 - The NBCSN State Liaison Program was developed.

2000 - The C.S.N. Trademark is retired and the NCSN Trademark is approved.

2011 - NBCSN celebrates 20 years in business

2014 - The Board of Directors partnered with Competency and Credentialing Institute to administer exams and develop the online test.

NBCSN maintains an affiliation with the National Association of School Nurses (NASN). For more information about NASN please visit their website www.nasn.org

Past Presidents

1988-1990 - Lu Elliott, Arizona
1990-1992 - Elaine Brainerd, Connecticut
1992-1994 - Carol Holman, Alabama
1994-1996 - Elizabeth Gregory, Texas
1996-1998 - Shirley Carstens, Washington
1998-2000 - Eileen McDonald, Wisconsin
2000-2002 - Faye New, North Carolina
2002-2004 - JoAnn Shirk, Texas
2004-2006 - Carol Calarco, New York
2007-2009 - Jane Tustin, Texas
2010-2011 - Mary Ann Gapinski, Massachusetts
2012 - 2013 - Susan Nokleby, Minnesota